In this article, we will go through the GST Payment module of the GST portal. Through this portal, you can pay your taxes without any professional help.

Step 1 – Login to the GST Portal. Enter your username, password, and captcha code

Step 2 – Once you log in go to Services > Payments > Create Challan


Step 3 – Enter the amounts and select the method of payment i.e. e-payment,  over the counter or NEFT/RTGS. Click on Generate Challan once all the details have been filled in.

At this screen you have to enter details of CGST, IGST and SGST tax that you are paying. You also need to enter details such as Tax amount, Interest, Penalty, Fees and Others purposes. After entering all the details, you need to click the Save Button


There are 3 methods of payment here:

  • Internet banking and debit/credit cards of authorized banks
  • Over the counter payment through authorized banks
  • Payment through NEFT/RTGS from any bank.

However, there is a limit of Rs. 10,000/- per challan, for over the counter payment through authorized banks.


Step 4 –  After submission of challan details, a confirmation screen will appear. Here you can verify the details and proceed to payment.


Every challan generated will have a 14 digit unique Common Portal Identification Number (CPIN). This CPIN shall remain valid for 15 days from the date of generation. This means that challan once generated remains valid for 15 days.

For making payment, first you have to select the mode of payment. Accordingly the portal will ask you to fill the bank details. For all modes of payment, challans shall be generated online only. You can use a print out of the same for Over the Counter payments.


Further, you cannot fill the challan manually. Only online challans are acceptable. If you select E-Payment, the portal shall give you options amongst Preferred Banks, Net banking, Debit/Credit Cards.

Step 5 – For Over the Counter payments, the portal shall ask you details of Bank Name and mode of payment amongst Cash, Cheque and Demand Draft.

Similarly for NEFT/RTGS, the portal shall display Account Number, IFSC Code, Payee Bank and Account Name.  You can then process the NEFT or RTGS, as the case may be.


Step 6 If you select E-payment as option, the system will take you to the E-payment screen. In other cases, you will get options to Print or Download the challan.

Now, you can pay your taxes and collect the Challan Receipt.

Every challan receipt will have a 17 digit unique Challan Identification Number (CIN). CIN is a 14 digit CPIN along with a 3 digit Bank Code.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here